acknowledgements…

microphone

… for the inspiration from the
rhymers who came before me
and the push
from the teachers who came after me…
… for my homework

 

i want to thank you, Harry1 for the haunting songs you sing,
for the many marvels of your many lyrics & the memories they bring
i want to thank you Billy2 for the music that you make
for the times it’s brought my head down easy & the time that it must take.
i want to thank you, Stephen3, for the depth of what you write,
and to John4 thanks for the thinking and the comfort late at night.

i want to thank you Jack Sherak5, for the added inspiration,
for the patience & the understanding throughout the duration.
i want to thank you Mr. Browne6 for giving me the drive,
for noticing the “something there” and keeping it alive.
i want to thank you Dr. Seuss for your rhythms & your rhymes,
& the list goes on & on & on & I haven’t got the time…
…they’re playing me off now…

i want to thank you Harry, I want to thank you Bill,
i want to thank you Stephen, for the extra added thrill.
many thanks to Carroll7 and to Milne8 and Nash9 and Lear10
you made me what i am today, and thank you, too, Shakespeare11
i want to thank you Jack Sherak, thank you Mr. Browne,
i want to thank you, Dr. Seuss, i want to thank you, noun…

1 Chapin; 2 Joel; 3 Sondheim; 4 Lennon
5&6Two exquisite English teachers
7 Lewis; 8 A.A.; 9 Ogden; 10Edward; 11 Will

© 1977 kStan(ly) Lanning
photo courtesy bing.com/images
Daily Prompt – understanding

 

2 thoughts on “acknowledgements…

Leave a comment