insecurity

dressed-up
i’ve brushed my hair
& brushed my teeth
& brushed my hair again
i’m ready to go,
i’m on my way,
i’m out the door & then
i rush back in and brush my hair & brush my teeth again.

i’ve changed my dress
& changed my mind
& changed my dress once more.
i’m ready to go,
i’m on my way,
i’m out the door & then
i rush back in and change my dress & change my mind again.

i’ve done my eyes
& done my nails
& done my eyes all over
i step outside
& i can smell
the fresh clean scent of clover
i rush back in and do my eyes and do my nails all over.

i’ve done all this
and done all that
and done it all again
this is it now
i feel sure
i’m out for good and then
i rush back in and brush my hair and brush my teeth again.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
© 1977 & 2017 kStan(ly) Lanning
picture courtesy bing.com/images
Daily prompt – scent
Leave a Reply

