country visit

i’m goin’ to the country,
gonna buy me a pup
and if he don’t got germs then he can
drink right from my cup, oh
i am goin’ to the country,
gonna buy me a pup
and that pup’ll be a doggie
providin’ he grows up

cuz ya can’t keep a pup in the City
just too much for him to see
what ain’t so pretty
taxi cab could run him over
that’d be the end of rover
and he’d wallow for a while in self-pity

we are not amused
we are not amused

i’m goin’ to the country,
gonna buy me a cow
gonna git some farm equipment,
couple’ hogs, couple’ plows, yes,
i am goin’ to the country,
gonna buy me a cow
and that cow will git a bedroom
if i ever git a house

cuz ya can’t keep a cow in manhattan
it’s the kinda place a cow
would get too fat in
hot dog stands at ev’ry block
that dang cow would run amok
and he’d sneak back out each time you let the cat in

i’m goin’ to the country
gonna git me a gal
gonna git the kinda female
what kin also be a pal oh yes
i’m goin’ to the country
gonna git me a gal
and i’ll treat ‘er extra special
just like any ani-mal

cuz ya can’t keep a gal in New York
she’ll be feelin’ she should oughta go to work
she’d become the big bread-winner
and i’d never git my dinner
til we got a friendly visit from the stork

and frankly i just ain’t ready for that kinda commit’ment

©1983 kStan(ly) Lanning
photo courtesy 8awanimalworld.wikispaces.com
Daily prompt – city

(this was my dad’s favorite song from one of my nightclub acts, done as girl/guy siamese twins joined at the hip – picture that – i can still see him laughing)

Leave a Reply

