the artist unrequited

on a sliver of an island
in a country by the sea
stands a statue of a tortoise
made by time and tides and Me

on a sliver of an island

I am knowing I am wise,

omnipotent, supreme
I am always in disguise
generous, extreme

I made mountains out of mole hills
I made oceans out of  lakes
I made woman out of man’s ribs
and it’s true I’ve made mistakes
but the tortoise on the sliver
few have ever been to see
is the one thing I’ve created
that most pleases me.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
© 2005 kStan(ly) Lanning
photo by Ivan Slade, courtesy unsplash.com
Daily prompt – mountain
linked again for the Daily prompt – island and the Daily prompt -mistake,
because, well, like the tortoise, it wants to be seen
2 thoughts on “the artist unrequited

Leave a Reply

