*Stephen

I sometimes think
that I should try
to change the world
but not me, I
am merely here to entertain
(Colbert* couldn’t do it
neither could Jon Stewart
and I’m not near as funny
they both have twice the money
and I haven’t half their brains)
I used to think
we’d gotten past
the hateful times…
it didn’t last,
it was a phase that ended
if we persist
and hang on tight
this nasty phase…
this phase just might
end sooner than intended
until that time
all I can do
is try to smile…
to humor you
and try to give life meaning
and now and then
in my small way
I’ll spread the word…
I’ll subtly say

that we’re all human beings

(be brave be wise
be kind be fair
treat people like…
they’re really there…

especially Jon Stewart and Colbert*)

 

*Stephen

 

(c) 2016 kStan(ly) Lanning
Daily Post – phase

bing.com/images

4 thoughts on “*Stephen

    1. thank you so much! it took me forever to finish it, on a really busy day, but i just had to for the challenge… i must have hit the wrong button to link it so i missed the deadline anyway, so it’s nice that you saw it.

      Like

  1. Hi Stanly: The last entry is great! It speaks to the time we are in today with the misuse or misinterpretation of words. In any event, it all comes down to the fact that we are all in this race called the “human race”. We are not perfect but we ask for guidance from the Creator of this universe. Love, Carol H-D.

    Like

Leave a Reply

